The Artwork of Nicholas Dwyer

Nautilus (in work)

20120701-022258.jpg  After two corners sawed off

20120701-022703.jpg     20120701-022725.jpg Clay miniature study of Nautilus

20120701-022749.jpg work begun

This is a project I started this summer. I bought a 125 pound block of Alabaster from Myles of 2sculpt. Thanks, Bill & Myles.

I am making a chambered nautilus and this is the in-work progress. The stone itself is South western raspberry alabaster from the US. It looks whitish but when polished the bands of raspberry red, white and soft green shine bright and is very beautiful in appearance.

I made a miniature model out of sulfur based clay to study the form and get an idea how to sculpt the nautilus.

Here is a link to a YouTube video me sculpting, it was really just to show an example of the chiseling on the beginning and yes it was uncomfortable before I lifted it up onto the bench.

I love the nautilus it’s a living fossil, and I would live to swim with one in the sea some day.

One response

  1. Oh my god!! When I was a kid, my parents had an “Under the Ocean” book and I was freakin’ fascinated by the Nautilus. Like a squid-stuffed peppermint!

    September 20, 2012 at 5:59 pm

Leave a Reply

